Sports (663)

North Piedmont Conference:
Alexander Central: 1
Mooresville: 0

Northwestern Conference:
Hibriten: 5
South Caldwell: 4

South Mountain Athletic Conference:
Draughn: 4
East Burke: 0

Southern District 7:
Bunker Hill: 4
Bandys: 2

Lincolnton: 6
Newton-Conover: 0

Maiden: 6
West Lincoln: 2

West Caldwell: 4
East Lincoln: 2

Patton: 16
Mitchell: 6

North Piedmont Conference:
Alexander Central: 4
Mooresville: 3

Northwestern Conference:
Freedom: 8
Fred T. Foard: 6

South Caldwell: 4
Hibriten: 3

South Mountain Athletic Conference:
Draughn: 8
East Burke: 0

Southern District 7:
Bunker Hill: 13
Bandys: 1

Maiden: 9
West Lincoln: 7

North Piedmont Conference:
Mooersville: 7
Alexander Central: 0

Northwestern Conference:
South Caldwell: 1
Hibriten: 0

South Mountain Athletic Conference:
East Burke: 5
Draughn: 0

Southern District 7:
Bunker Hill: 1
Bandys: 1

Maiden: 5
West Lincoln: 0

Newton-Conover: 3
Lincolnton: 1

West Caldwell: 1
East Lincoln: 0

The Hickory Crawdads and the Kannapolis Intimidators each scored a run in the second inning and then went scoreless for nine innings until the Crawdads scored in the bottom of the 12th inning for a 2-1 home opening win.

Jose Almonte hit a walk-off triple with two outs in the 12th inning scoring Anderson Tejeda. The Crawdads had three relievers combine to throw seven scoreless innings in the victory. Travis Bolin (1-0) got the win with a scoreless inning.

Blaine Prescott went two-for-five with a double. Ti'Quan Forbes scored the first Crawdads run in the second inning on an error.

Hickory improves to 3-3 on the season. The Crawdads stay at home hosting Kannapolis Friday and Saturday in a doubleheader.

Appalachian State University volleyball head coach Matt Ginipro announced the addition of Grace Morrison (Chandler, Ariz./Xavier College Prep) to the 2017 roster on Wednesday.

Morrison, a product of Xavier College Prep in Chandler, Ariz., is the fifth addition volleyball has made since the conclusion of the 2016 season.

A right side hitter, Morrison was a second-team all-conference selection as a senior and finished her last two seasons with 302 kills, 64 blocks, 120 digs and seven aces.

As a senior, Morrison is a member of East Valley Juniors Volleyball club and earned a USA Nationals bid this season - finishing fifth in the state.

Morrison plans to major in psychology with a minor in business.

“I’m excited to get Grace in our gym this summer and to see her in Black & Gold. It’s not easy to find someone with her talent as late in the recruiting process as we did, but I’m sure glad it happened. She will strengthen our pin hitting group and has the ability to play on the left or right for us. Grace is a great athlete, with a good arm, who has played at a high level and will make our gym more competitive when she arrives.”

Northwestern Conference:
Fred T. Foard: 3
Hickory: 2

Hibriten: 10
Freedom: 4

Patton: 6
Watauga: 2

South Caldwell: 7
St. Stephens: 3

South Mountain Athletic Conference:
Burns: 7
East Burke: 2

Davie County: 5
Alexander Central: 4

Northwestern Conference:
Fred T. Foard: 17
Hickory: 2

Hibriten: 11
Freedom: 10

South Caldwell: 12
St. Stephens: 2

Watauga: 4
Patton: 3

Southern District 7:
Bandys: 20
Lincolnton: 10

West Caldwell: 5
East Lincoln: 4

Northwestern Conference:
Hibriten: 4
Freedom: 0

Hickory: 2
Fred T. Foard: 0

South Caldwell: 6
St. Stephens: 0

Southern District 7:
East Lincoln: 3
Bandys: 1

Thursday, 13 April 2017 08:44

Hickory Crawdads Wrap Up Road Trip with Win

Written by

The Hickory Crawdads won their series against the Columbia Fireflys with a 4-2 victory Wednesday night on the road.

Yanio Perez scored twice, including a home run. Ti'Quan Forbes went two-of-four with a run scored. Anderson Tejeda hit a run-scoring single in the first inning.

With the score tied 1-1 in the fourth, the Crawdads took the lead for good when Ricardo Valencia hit an RBI single, scoring Forbes.

Luke Lanphere got the win with three innings of scoreless, one-hit relief. Hickory improves to 3-4 on the season. The Crawdads will be home, hosting the Kannapolis Intimidators beginning Thursday.

Wednesday, 12 April 2017 21:15

Lenoir-Rhyne Baseball Defeats Augusta on the Road

Written by

The Lenoir-Rhyne Baseball Team (21-19) snapped a three-game losing streak with an 8-3 victory over Augusta University (15-21) Wednesday evening at Lake Olmstead Stadium.

Lenoir-Rhyne sophomore designated hitter Josh Kent (Winston-Salem, N.C.) hit a two-run triple as part of a four-run fourth inning which gave the Bears the lead for good while sophomore outfielder Zach Jacobs (Moncks Corner, S.C.) hit a solo home run, his third of the season, in the ninth inning to lead the Bears to the victory.

Lenoir-Rhyne was aided by three Augusta errors which led to four unearned runs for the Bears. Lenoir-Rhyne junior third baseman Fred Wadsworth (Columbia, S.C.) and junior outfielder Marcus Shoemaker (Colfax, N.C.) both added two hits and two runs scored in the victory as well.

Lenoir-Rhyne junior Matt Sullivan (Bristol, Va.) (1-1) earned his first victory of the year after allowing just two earned runs while pitching into the sixth inning. Augusta's Matthew Kuhlenberg (Columbus, Ga.) fell to 1-6 after taking the loss.

The Jaguars' Tyler Roberts (Fayetteville, Ga.) tallied two hits and drove in a run in the losing effort for Augusta, which suffered its fourth straight setback.

Lenoir-Rhyne returns to South Atlantic Conference action on Friday at 6:00 p.m., against Mars Hill at Bears Field beginning at 6:00 p.m.

News Arrest Disclaimer:
The individuals depicted have been arrested but not convicted at the time of story postings. This information does not infer or imply guilt of any actions or activity other than their arrest. We make no warranty or guaranty as to the accuracy of this data.

© 2017 Long Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved
526 Main Avenue SE, Hickory, NC 28602 - Phone: 828-322-1290 - Fax: 828-322-8256