whky tv and talk radio hickory, nc





Sports (506)

Sunday, 01 February 2015 13:06

CVCC Men's Ball Falls to Pitt CC

Written by

Catawba Valley Community College men's basketball team fell to Pitt Community College 64-56 Saturday.

Tryle Poindexter had 17 points to lead the Red Hawks in scoring. Mon'Darius Black fell one point shy of a double-double with nine points and 14 rebounds.

The loss drops CVCC to 10-12 overall and 5-7 in the conference.

The Red Hawks face Guilford Tech on the road Wednesday.

The Lenoir-Rhyne Baseball Team (1-0) continued where it left off last year with a 14-4 victory over Francis Marion in the 2015 season opener in the Carolinas Hospital System Classic Saturday at Sparrow Stadium.

Lenoir-Rhyne senior second baseman Brantley Rumford (Rock Hill, S.C.), a preseason first-team all-league honoree, led the way with five hits and three runs batted in as the Bears increased their winning streak to 10 games dating back to the end of last season.

The Bears took control early with three runs in each of the first and second innings for a 6-0 advantage and never looked back. Junior shortstop Ryan Perkins (Woodruff, S.C.) drove in a run in each of the frames for the Bears. Perkins totaled four hits on the day as well.

Junior catcher Colby Dishmond (Statesville, N.C.) highlighted a four-run sixth inning for the Bears with a two-run home run as Lenoir-Rhyne finished with 16 hits for the contest and took advantage of three Francis Marion errors in the victory.

On the mound, Lenoir-Rhyne junior pitcher Wes McGuire (Richmond, Va.) came on in relief to earn the win. McGuire (1-0) allowed just one run in over four innings of work to go along with five strikeouts. Francis Marion’s Matt Kelley (Hampton, Ga.) (0-1) took the loss.

The Patriots were led by Matt Rubino (Aliquippa, Pa.) with five hits and two runs scored despite the setback.

The tournament wraps up on Sunday with Lenoir-Rhyne facing St. Rose (N.Y.) and Pfeiffer at 11:00 a.m., and 2:00 p.m., respectively.

Page 37 of 37