Wednesday, 13 November 2019 11:28

Two Bears Earn Men's Soccer All-Conference Honors

Victor Cascon (L) and Goncalo Garcia earn all-conference honors Victor Cascon (L) and Goncalo Garcia earn all-conference honors Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

The South Atlantic Conference has announced its All-Conference teams and two LR players were named to the list. Victor Cascon was named Second Team All-Conference and Goncalo Garcia earned Honorable Mention.

Junior Victor Cascon has been on the All-SAC Team all three years here at Lenoir-Rhyne. In 2017 and 2018, Cascon was selected to the First team All-SAC team. This year, Cascon started and played in all 17 games for the Bears. The Salamanca, Spain native lead the team in goals with seven, including the game-winning goal in the Bears upset of #2 Young Harris on September 25. In his first three years, Cascon now has scored 21 goals for the Bears. Cascon will enter his senior year four goals shy of 5th place all-time in Bears history.

Garcia's honorable mention comes after a senior season that saw him scored 14 points for the Bears. Garcia finished the 2019 season with 4 goals and 6 assists. Garcia netted the game-winning goal with his second goal of the game against the SAC champion, Carson-Newman on October 2. The Lisbon, Portugal native lead the team in assists with six and at one point in the season, Garcia assisted on five straight Bear goals.

The duo helped the Bears beat two top ten national ranked schools during the season. Bears beat then #9 and the 2018 National Champions Barry 1-0 in OT here at home then followed that up when Cascon scored to help the Bears knock off #2 Young Harris on the road 1-0.

2019 South Atlantic Conference Men's Soccer All-Conference

First Team
F – Paul Ngongo, Wingate
F – Henrique Devens, Tusculum
F – Ibrahim Nadir, Newberry
F – Jacques Fokam-Sandeu, Coker
MF – Christian Provenzano, Coker
MF – Elliot Cutts, Wingate
MF – David Alvarez, Queens
MF – Mikkel Fahlen Bruun, Wingat
D – Michael Hornsby, Queens
D – Kensho Yoshikoshi, Carson-Newman
D – Owen Marshall, Wingate
D – Alan Brandao, Lincoln Memorial
GK – Bram Kaarsgaren, Carson-Newman

Second Team
F – Victor Cascon, Lenoir-Rhyne
F – Thaylan Silva, Carson-Newman
F – Harry Ward, Anderson
F – Caio Brandao, Queens
MF – Keegan Burton, Queens
MF – Danilo Seglio, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Will Sainsbury-Logan, Carson-Newman
MF – Nic Carsh, Carson-Newman
D – Georgios Charkoutsakis, Tusculum
D – Ryan Tyrer, Anderson
D – Sam Ottley, Newberry
D – Robi Obrstar, Coker
GK – Jens Bergendorff, Wingate

Honorable Mention
F – Goncalo Garcia, Lenoir-Rhyne
F – Tobias Solem Karlsen, Carson-Newman
F – Sofian Maghouz, Carson-Newman
F – Alexander Cox-Ashwood, Anderson
MF – Boris Basara, Queens
MF – Fabian Proesch, Tusculum
MF – Hunter Stroble, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Ben Bielby, Catawba
D – Monoel Dos passos, Queens
D – Clement Dagorn, Tusculum
D – Jeppe Christensen, Mars Hill
D – Dani Gongora, Tusculum
GK – Sebastian Kalk, Queens

Offensive Player of the Year
Paul Ngongo, Wingate

Defensive Player of the Year
Kensho Yoshikoshi, Carson-Newman

Freshman of the Year
Paul Ngongo, Wingate

Coach of the Year
Stephen Lyons, Carson-Newman

Fair Play Award
Lincoln Memorial

Read 143 times

News Arrest Disclaimer:
The individuals depicted have been arrested but not convicted at the time of story postings. This information does not infer or imply guilt of any actions or activity other than their arrest. We make no warranty or guaranty as to the accuracy of this data.

Long Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved
526 Main Avenue SE, Hickory, NC 28602 - Phone: 828-322-1290 - Fax: 828-322-8256