Monday, 04 December 2017 23:06

L-R's de Goya Named Honorable Mention All-American

Ignacio de Goya led the Bears in goals scored (12) and total points (27) and was named the 2017 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Soccer Player of the Year Ignacio de Goya led the Bears in goals scored (12) and total points (27) and was named the 2017 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Soccer Player of the Year Lenoir-Rhyne Athletics

Lenoir-Rhyne University’s Ignacio de Goya has been named a 2017 NCAA Division II Conference Commissioner’s Association (CCA) Men’s Soccer Honorable Mention All-American.

de Goya, a junior forward from Madrid, SPAIN, was a First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference honoree and a First-Team All-Southeast Region selection by both the CCA and the United Soccer Coaches (USC).

de Goya led the Bears in goals scored (12) and total points (27) and was named the 2017 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Soccer Player of the Year. de Goya was a two-time AstroTurf SAC Player of the Week as well and tallied a hat trick in a 4-3 victory over Catawba on Wednesday, October 11.

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA D-II member colleges and universities.

2017 NCAA Division II Conference Commissioners Association
Men’s Soccer All-America Teams

GK - Paulo Pita, Charleston (W.Va.), So., Sao Paulo, Brazil
F - Aidan Apodaca, California Baptist, Sr., Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
F - John Haist, Colorado School of Mines, Jr., Wantage, England
F - Sergi Monso, Cal Poly Pomona, Sr., Barcelona, Spain
F - Brogan Shrimpton, Davenport (Mich.), Jr., Benoni, South Africa
MF - Chahin Aghrim, Goldey-Beacom (Del.), Jr., Bonn, Germany
MF - Esteban Berumen, Notre Dame de Namur (Calif.), Sr., Pittsburg, Calif.
MF - Moshe Perez, Colorado Mesa, Jr., Beercheeva, Israel
MF - Gabriel Torres, District of Columbia, So., Salvador, Brazil
D - Magnus Kristensen, Simon Fraser (B.C.), Sr., Stavanger, Norway
D - Ty Mobley, St. Edward’s (Texas), Sr., Deer Park, Texas
D - Abe Placito, California Baptist, Sr., Perris, Calif.
D - Thomas Vancaeyezeele, Charleston (W.Va.), Sr., Caan, France

GK - Carlos Rubio, Ohio Valley (W.Va.), Sr., Valencia, Spain
F - Kaleb Jackson, Rockhurst (Mo.), Sr., St. Louis, Mo.
F - Lukas Ostermann, LIU Post (N.Y.), Sr., Saterland, Germany
F - Will Roberts, Charleston (W.Va.), Sr., Denbigh, Wales
F - Marek Weber, Le Moyne (N.Y.), Jr., Fulda, Germany
MF - Pierre Bocquet, Midwestern State (Texas), Sr., Montreuil-Sur-Mer, France
MF - Tom Deeley, Lees-McRae (N.C.), Sr., Oxford, England
MF - Derick Gonzalez, Fort Hays State (Kan.), Sr., Houston, Texas
MF - Patrick Guier, Charleston (W.Va.), Jr., Aachen, Germany
D - Slater Elkind, Colorado Mesa, Sr., Encinitas, Calif.
D - Patrick Fitzgerald, Midwestern State (Texas), Jr., Waterford, Ireland
D - Seiji Rose, Jefferson (Pa.), Sr., Toulouse, France
D - Niklas Tasky, Lynn (Fla.), Jr., Hannover, Germany

GK - Elliott Barker, Palm Beach Atlantic (Fla.), So., Harrogate, England
F - Juwon Akintunde, West Virginia Wesleyan, Sr., London, England
F - Ali Brador, West Alabama, Sr., Ronchin, France
F - Scott Doney, Midwestern State (Texas), Sr., Tauranga, New Zealand
F - Finn Reese, Nyack (N.Y.), Sr., Hamburg, Germany
MF - Kieran Bywater, Charleston (W.Va.), Fr., Manchester, England
MF - Joe Garcia, Northeastern State (Okla.), Jr., Grand Prairie, Texas
MF - Charlie Dennis, Palm Beach Atlantic (Fla.), Sr., Brighton, England
MF - Christopher Makengo, Mercyhurst (Pa.), Sr., Lyon, France
D - Nadeer Ghantous, Cal Poly Pomona, Jr., Hifa, Israel
D - Juan Sanchez, Palm Beach Atlantic (Fla.), Jr., Madrid, Spain
D - Jordan Skelton, Lander (S.C.), Jr., Newcastle, England
D - Armando Tikvic, Charleston (W.Va.), Fr., Hamburg, Germany

GK - Wiktor Lasota, Point Loma (Calif.), Sr., Lodz, Poland
GK - Lucas Rezende, Merrimack (Mass.), Sr., Weymouth, Mass.
F - Jon Ander, Wingate (N.C.), Sr., Bilbao, Spain
F - Dylan Armstrong, St. Edward’s (Texas), Jr., Newcastle, England
F - Ignacio de Goya, Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.), Jr., Madrid, Spain
F - Sebastian Loibl, Mount Olive (N.C.), So., Passau, Germany
F - Leonardo Paiva, Notre Dame (Ohio), Sr., Vitoria, Brazil
MF - Niki Grotz, Colorado School of Mines, Sr., Grafath, Germany
MF - Hugo Gutierrez, California Baptist, Sr., Pico Rivera, Calif.
MF - Adam Michel, Rockhurst (Mo.), Sr., St. Louis, Mo.
MF - Luis Najera, Jr., Cal Poly Pomona, Sr., Tulare, Calif.
MF - Tom Read, Carson-Newman (Tenn.), Sr., London, England
MF - Paul Smith, West Virginia Wesleyan, Sr., Glasgow, Scotland
MF - Toni Soler, Adelphi (N.Y.), Sr., Valencia, Spain
MF - Alun Webb, Lynn (Fla.), Sr., Llanduano, Wales
D - Keelby Espinola, East Stroudsburg (Pa.), Sr., Philadelphia, Pa.
D - Macauley King, Young Harris (Ga.), Jr., Narborough, England
D - Johan Mauritzson, LIU Post (N.Y.), Sr., Halmstad, Sweden
D - Connor Mullen, Rockhurst (Mo.), Sr., St. Louis, Mo.

Read 214 times

News Arrest Disclaimer:
The individuals depicted have been arrested but not convicted at the time of story postings. This information does not infer or imply guilt of any actions or activity other than their arrest. We make no warranty or guaranty as to the accuracy of this data.

© 2018 Long Communications, LLC. All Rights Reserved
526 Main Avenue SE, Hickory, NC 28602 - Phone: 828-322-1290 - Fax: 828-322-8256